top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe outnumbered mum

Why I don't like mothers day - after becoming a parent

So since I become a parent nearly four years ago, as each Mother's Day goes by I'm beginning to realise it's not actually about my role as a mother at all... and I'm realising the sensitivity that surrounds Mother's Day and it is not a positive one!

This is the day that causes some people to remember loss, the loss of losing there mothers, the people who don't have children or their children are no longer with them. It's a day that makes some mother's realise how little they are appreciated by there partners or grown children appreciate them.

There is also the hard labour or stepmothers the ones who do all the hard work without no or ounce of acknowledgement and there are reminders for teachers, child minders people who nurture without being parents.

Constant reminders...

The constant reminders of emails and adverts "have you shopped for Mother's Day?" A month or so before the actual day! Not because it's to remind us of what the day itself was actually intended for to honour mothers and not put are children to war over who brought the best gift and who spent the most time with them on that day!

And let's not forget Father's Day...

there are reminders to be sensitive to people of Father's Day to but they are very few and far between actually about infertility or loss... or the one whose fathers have died and cannot guide them through the steps of fatherhood, most of the time it's people whose fathers were shitty or absent and they have to send a grudging card to the person who made there childhood miserable.

What I thought my mothers days would be...

When I used to think about what Mother's Day would be like as a parent and how I would want to make my mother feel as loved and important... more than any other day. I honestly thought it would be returned when I became a mother myself, but it seems not all that great.

Now if anything we focus on how to equally divide time between both of our parents rushing around and arguing over what to buy them and have we got cards/flowers etc...from the grandkids! now when I was growing up my mum would of never got me a card to give to my nan because she wasn't my mother... yes i love my nan like my mum but now when every Mother's Day comes along I feel incredibly guilty if I didn't get her a card... it's crazy!

When did Mother's Day turn into so much pressure? And the simple answer for me is, when I had children! It's not enjoyable anymore...

Even Valentine's Day is becoming more hated over the years... but does anyone ever complain about Easter? It never seems to bring up hatred anymore for anyone, and I suspect it's because it doesn't ask much of anyone anymore. What is there to hate? Chocolate, bunnies, flowers, chicks, resurrection. Easter isn't the day we specifically talk about anything that matters to us outside of religion.

To me I've learnt that having happy and healthy children is the best gift anyone could ever ask for, some mums hundreds spent on them others only receive a card and to me words are more meaningful than gifts, spending the day at the zoo argument free the children and us constantly laughing was the best Mother's Day gift I could of ever received.

family time is golden and that should be what Mother's Day is truly about.

Morgen x

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The big mummy blog share - it’s a westy thing

As part of http://www.theenglishfamily.co.uk/the-big-mummy-blog-share/" The Big Mummy Blog Share - this week I am featuring a fellow mummy blogger! Meet Natalie from http://www.itsawestything.com">It

I LOST MYSELF WHEN I BECOME A MUM

Its difficult to wear your heart on your sleeve when your feeling are suppressed... because not even you can understand why you feel the way you do. There is so much Joy and love that surrounds you wh

bottom of page