top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe outnumbered mum

2 Months of you florence

Well, officially on the 6th! But her 8th week mark is today... scary I know!

I've spent every waking moment with Florence sin

ce she was born, she brings me so much joy and several times a day I find myself smelling the top of her head and think to myself She is mine, she really is mine. It's still very surreal.


Over the part two months I've laughed, cried yawned and definitely yawned some more... every funny, cute face or little noise she makes melts our hearts!

I'm not going to lie this has also been the hardest two months of my life being tiring, stressful, and down right difficult (did I mention tiring?) and having PND lingering in the background of my mind but overall the good has outweighed the bad. But With a face like hers how could I not feel like the luckiest mum in the world?


Florence currently weighs a lovely 7lb 9oz and everyone seems really pleased with her. At our 6 week check florence had to attend the hospital for an Ultrasound on her hip as our doctor found a click in her left hip but thankfully the scan was all ok and paediatrics were happy (thank god), Florence is also struggling a little bit with going to the toilet and wind so we are experimenting with lactulose which kind of helps but she gets very unsettled a lot of the time (I think she could have silent reflux) but we are having a review next week with our doctor.


I'm so pleased we have been able to continue breastfeeding and I'm so glad I haven't given up. Yes it's difficult at times with cluster feeding especially during the night when I'm up every couple of hours but there is no feeling like it, and I feel our bond is stronger because of this.

Florence also luckily has had her tongue cut a couple of weeks ago which I was really hoping we would be able to stop using a nipple shield but she still struggles to latch without... it doesn't really bother me that much (i would prefer without) but as long as we can continue our breastfeeding journey I'm down for whatever Florence wants! Even if she has given me niplash several times. (Yes niplash is a thing!)


Florence is cooing and smiling more and more each day and ironically I can never catch it on camera... which is always the way! Florence has also found the use of her arms and legs and if she waves and kicks them about she knows she can cause some damage, haha.

I can't wait to see what happens within the next few weeks until next time.

Morgen x

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The big mummy blog share - it’s a westy thing

As part of http://www.theenglishfamily.co.uk/the-big-mummy-blog-share/" The Big Mummy Blog Share - this week I am featuring a fellow mummy blogger! Meet Natalie from http://www.itsawestything.com">It

I LOST MYSELF WHEN I BECOME A MUM

Its difficult to wear your heart on your sleeve when your feeling are suppressed... because not even you can understand why you feel the way you do. There is so much Joy and love that surrounds you wh

bottom of page